Augmented Chords

The basic augmented chord is a triad consisting of notes
found at the first, major third, and augmented fifth
intervals of a major scale with the same root note.
The augmented triad can also be
said to be
built from the
tonic, the next note
which is
a major third interval from
the tonic, and the next note which is
another major third interval from the previous note.
The notes of the augmented chord do not perfectly

overlap with any of the diatonic scales or modes.

The augmented chord is played by simultaneously sounding the tones
at the first, fourth, and ninth notes of
the chromatic scale- or;
a root note, a note 4 frets higher than the root, and
a note 8 frets higher than the root.

You can add depth and variation to an augmented
chord by adding unison notes or 1st, major 3rd, & augmented 5th
notes of higher and lower octaves.